Romeo and juliet dating law

Romeo and Juliet Laws - Definition, Examples, Cases, Ages, by States

romeo and juliet dating law

The Romeo and Juliet Law requires a person to be at least 17 to be able to Sometimes, this can lead to dating across grades and ages. In the interest of recognizing that consensual sex between two teens should not be a crime, New Jersey has what is known as a Romeo and Juliet law, creating. Romeo and Juliet laws and clauses concern young adults or teenagers who are a few years apart and have willingly had sexual relations. These provisions.

Many states did not originally have statutory rape legislation that had special discretion for cases involving teenagers who are not much older than each other. Most Romeo and Juliet laws provide defendants with an affirmative defense against their charges. An affirmative defense means that the defendant's lawyer can submit the small difference of age between the two consenting peers as evidence against the state's case against the defendant.

Romeo and Juliet laws also provide for lesser sentences for statutory rape defendants. Some states downgrade charges from felony status to misdemeanor. Some Romeo and Juliet laws make exception of requiring teenagers convicted of statutory rape to register as sex offenders. The Kansas Court of Appeals upheld the conviction on the basis that a U. Supreme Court decision had ruled that sodomy laws were constitutional. Matthew appealed his case to the Kansas Supreme Court, which refused to review it.

The case then made its way to the U.

Statutory rape - Wikipedia

The Supreme Court sent the case back to the lower for further review. After spending 5 years in prison, Matthew was released on November 1, During the party, Wilson engaged in oral sex with year old Kristie, who confirmed the act was consensual. Wilson also had sex with a year old girl that night. This girl, however, woke up naked and disoriented the next day, and claimed she was raped.

This prompted a police investigation, in which condoms and a video tape of Wilson taking part in the sexual acts were found. In the video, the year old girl appeared intoxicated, but did not ask Wilson to stop.

romeo and juliet dating law

Shortly after the investigation concluded, Wilson was charged with rape. The case went to trial, and the jury acquitted Wilson of the rape charge, since year old Kristie testified that the act was consensual. The court sentenced Wilson to 10 years in prison, followed by a year of parole, and required him to register as a sex offender for the rest of his life. The case was appealed to the Georgia Supreme Court twice, each time resulting in a refusal to hear the case.

A slew of motions, and a scathing editorial in the New York Times, saw the case before the Georgia Supreme Court again. This time, the Court took into consideration that the laws were intended to punish sexual predators, not teen lovers.

Girls That Don't Look Their Age- Thank You "Romeo & Juliet" Law

Committed with a person who is 17 years or older but less than 19 years of age has sexual intercourse, with consent, with a person who is 15 years of age or older but less than 17 years of age.

When the victim is not the spouse and the difference between ages is not more than 2 years. The offender of this crime will not be subjected to any of the provisions of law which are applicable to sex offenders, including but not limited to the registration of the offender on sex offender sites.

  • Romeo And Juliet Law Law and Legal Definition
  • Statutory rape

If the sexual contact includes penetration it is a class B crime. This is a Class B crime. If it includes penetration it is a class A crime. Whoever unlawfully has sexual intercourse or unnatural sexual intercourse, and abuses a child under 16 years of age, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for life or for any term of years or, except as otherwise provided, for any term in a jail or house of correction.

A prosecution commenced under this section shall neither be continued without a finding nor placed on file. Felony Committed when the victim is at least 13 years of age but under the age of Criminal Sexual Conduct in the Forth Degree: Misdemeanor Committed when the victim is at least 13 years of age but under 16 years of age and the actor is 5 or more years older than the victim. Under the discretion of the prosecutor to file for either crime?

Committed when the victim is under the age of 13 and the actor is more than 3 years older than the victim. Or when the victim is older than 13 years but less than 16 and the actor is more than 4 years older than the victim and in a position of authority.

Criminal Sexual Conduct in the Second Degree: Or when the victim is older than 13 but less than 16 and the actor is more than 4 years older than the victim and in a position of authority.

Romeo and Juliet Laws

Criminal Sexual Conduct in the Third Degree: Committed when the actor is under the age of 13 and the actor is no more than 3 years older than the victim. Or when the victim is over the age of 13 but under the age of 16 and the actor is more than 2 years older than the victim.

Committed when the victim is under 13 and the actor is no more than 3 years older than the victim. Or when, the victim is more than 13 but less than 16 and the actor is more than 4 years older than the victim and in a position of authority.

Committed when a person who is 17 years or older has sexual intercourse with a child who is at least 14 years old but under 16 years old and is 3 years or more older than the victim who is not their spouse. Or when a person 17 years of age or older has sexual intercourse with a child who is under the age of 14 and is 2 years or more older than the child who is not their spouse.

Committed when a person engages in sexual penetration with a child at least 14 years old but less than 16 and the actor is 3 or more years older than the child. Or when, a person engages in sexual penetration with a child who is less than 14 years old and the actor is 2 or more years older than the child.

Committed when any person engages in sexual intercourse with another person who is under 14 years of age. Statutory Rape in the Second Degree: Class C Felony Committed when a person who is 21 years of age or older has sexual intercourse with a person who is less than 17 years of age. Child Molestation in the Second Degree: Class A Misdemeanor Committed when the offender subjects another person, who is less than 17 years of age, to sexual contact. A person who knowingly subjects another person to any sexual contact without consent commits the offense of sexual assault if the victim is less than 16 years old and the offender is 3 or more years older than the victim.

Sexual Intercourse without Consent: A person who knowingly has sexual intercourse without consent with another person if the victim is less than 16 years old and the offender is 3 or more years older than the victim.

Class II or Class IIIA Felony A person commits sexual assault of a child in the second or third degree if he or she subjects another person fourteen years of age or younger to sexual contact and the actor is 19 years of age or older. A person is guilty of a class B felony if the offender engages in sexual penetration with another person, other than a legal spouse, who is 13 years of age or older and under 16 years of age where the age difference between the offender and the victim is three years or more.

A person is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor when a the actor subjects another person who is 13 years of age of older to sexual contact under any of the circumstances named in RSA A: If a person is convicted under c that person will not be required to register as a sex offender. Committed when the victim is at least 13 years old but less than 16 and the actor is at least 4 years older than the victim.

Committed when a person has sexual penetration with a child who is thirteen to sixteen years of age and the offender is at least 18 years of age and is at least 4 years older than the child who can not be the offenders spouse. Rape in the Second Degree: Class D felony Committed when the actor is 18 years old or more and engages in sexual intercourse with another person who is less than 15 years old.

It shall be an affirmative defense to this crime if the defendant was 4 years older than the victim at the time of the act. Rape in the First Degree: Class B1 Felony Guilty if the defendant engages in sexual intercourse or a sexual act with another person who is 13, 14, or 15 years old and the defendant is at least 6 years older than the victim, who is not their spouse.

Class C Felony Guilty if the defendant engages in sexual intercourse of a sexual act with another person who is 13, 14 or 15 years of age and the defendant is at least 4 but less than 6 years older then the victim, who is not their spouse. Corruption or Solicitation of Minors: An adult who engages in, solicits with the intent to engage in, or causes another to engage in a sexual act with a minor, is guilty of a class A misdemeanor, if the victim is a minor 15 years of age or older.

If the offender is at least 22 years of age, it is a class C felony. Committed when any person engages in sexual contact with a person at least 15 years old but less than 18 years old and the offender is at least 22 years old is a Class C Felony. If the offender is under 22, than it is a class A misdemeanor.

romeo and juliet dating law

No person who is 18 years of age or older shall engage in sexual conduct with another, who is not their spouse, when the offender knows the other person is 13 years of age or older but less than If the offender is 10 years or more older than the victim, it is a felony in the third degree. No person can be convicted of rape or rape by instrumentation on account of an act of sexual intercourse with anyone over the age of 14 years old, with his or her consent, unless the offender was over the age of 18 years at the time of such act.